Sunday, July 23, 2023

Settlements and Sites of the Four City-States #204

Settlements and Sites of the Four City-States #204 

July 23rd, 2023 

  • Number: 204 

  • Name:  Deep Dive on a Site of Interest: Ulono Atu – City of Six Curses 

  • Location:  Central Wastelands west of the Ulu Maug range 

  • Population (approx.): Unknown 

  • Brief: At the height of the Empire of Ta’arna, the northern states were governed from the capital of Ulono Atu, the city of the Six Gods. The great metropolis covered a swath of the plains between the mountains to west and east, divided into six wards focused on a central cathedral of one of their gods. A great avenue encircled the city with six highways leading in six different directions to connect to the great temples of the gods (the temple of Air at The Lost Peak #30, the temple of Night at The Citadel of the Five Passages of Night #34, the temple of Water now under South Plains Tar #68, the temple of Day at Heliostat Citadel #69, the temple of Fire now under The Rolling Green #101 and an unnamed temple of the Earth somewhere to the south) in the surrounding countryside.  

  • Centuries later the corruption of the Empire seeped into the hearts and souls of the congregations of Ulono Atu. A game of blame for the decay ensued. What was once a united pantheon was sundered into six feuding factions. Assassinations and dark alley assaults led to all out warfare which culminated dank evil rituals to unleash unspeakable curses on enemies, the survivors responding by enacting retributive curses of their own. The six wards of Ulono Atu were blanketed in all manner of destructive and horrific magicks driving the survivors into the surrounding hills, seeking shelter in their churches, if not previously destroyed in the collapse. 

  • Geography: The ruins of Ulono Atu can be found in the center of the Wastelands west of the Ulu Maug and southeast of the Afale Maug, about 250 miles south of the border with Taodeas. The city was roughly circular divided into six wards, each controlled by one of the Churches. The northernmost ward was that of Light, followed by (in clockwise order) Fire, Earth, Dark, Water and Air. The parts of Ulono Atu that can be seen from the outside, the outer districts and surrounding avenues, are inevitably ruined, buildings burned or flattened. But due to the six curses, most of the city cannot be seen unless one is brave enough to step into the cursed wards and risk exposure to dangers therein. 

  • Next Article: The City of Six Curses – The First Curse 

No comments:

Post a Comment